Ploughing’s best pick up prizes

There were various prizes across different classes. 
There were various prizes across different classes. 

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Despite challenging and constantly changing weather conditions, 12 brave souls got stuck in to the 2022 Largieside Ploughing Match.

Last Saturday’s competition was held at South Muasdale Farm thanks to Stephen Jones.

Judges Duncan Black and Dougald Young did a sterling job.

The heavy rain kept at bay until just before the prizegiving, where the winners were presented with their trophies.

A small presentation was also made to Ian Taylor, who recently retired as secretary of the committee after 21 years in the post.

‘The committee would like to thank all the local people and companies who donated prizes for the raffle, supported the event, assisted in the setting-up or who helped on the day,’ said a spokesperson.

Largieside Ploughing Match 2022 results:

Conventional class: 1 John Mayberry, 2 Tom Hannah, 3 Willie Reid. Special prizes: best break: Willie Boag; best first six furrows: John Mayberry; best last six furrows: Tom Hannah; best outs and ins: Willie Reid; straightest: John Mayberry; best finish: Tom Hannah.

Reversible class: 1 Drew McKendrick, 2 Richard McCrindle, 3 Robert McDonald. Special prizes: best break: Drew McKendrick; best first six furrows: Robert McDonald; best last six furrows: Richard McCrindle; best outs and ins: Richard McCrindle; straightest: Drew McKendrick; best finish: Drew McKendrick.

Trophies: Mr and Mrs Holder Shield for best overall: Drew McKendrick; Largieside Challenge Cup, restricted to Largieside: Richard McCrindle; Tayinloan Cup, restricted to Largie, Killean and Glenbarr: Richard McCrindle; Glenside Tractors Trophy for best work by a KV Plough: Richard McCrindle; Glenside Tractors Trophy for best reversible: Drew McKendrick.

General prizes: farthest travelled: Sarah Swan; first on field: Willie Reid; worst lot: Willie Reid; least assistance: Paul Newall; hardest luck: Iain McKay; first finished (conventional): John Mayberry; first finished (reversible): Lewis Anderson; best maintained outfit: Fraser MacPhail; best working plough: Robert McDonald; oldest ploughman: Willie Reid; youngest ploughman: Sarah Swan; oldest tractor: Iain McKay (1952 Fergie); newest tractor: Robert McDonald (2021 Massey); best looking plough-person: Lewis Anderson; least experienced: Sarah Swan.

Additional special prize: best first attempt with a reversible plough: Jamie McKendrick.