Prime stock under scrutiny at 40th competition

From left Andrew Ronald (East Laggan), Duncan Semple (Dippen), Andrew Hamilton (Kilwhipnach), Mary Woodburn, Andy Woodburn (Judge) and John Lines (Killocraw).

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Kintyre Primestock Breeders Association held its 40th annual herd competition this month.

The event was well supported and an enjoyable day was had by everyone.

There were 10 herds competing under the expert eye of judge Andy Woodburn, of Netherwood Farm, Muirkirk, Ayrshire.


Autumn herds: 1 Dippen; 2 Killocraw; 3 East Laggan; 4 Strathnafanaig.

Best cow: East Laggan.

Best team of cows: Killocraw.

Best calf: 1 East Laggan; 2 Killocraw; 3 Strathnafanaig.

Best team of calves: Dippen.

Spring herds: 1 Kilwhipnach; 2 Low Dunasherry; 3 Rhoin.

Best cow: Kilwhipnach.

Best team of cows: Kilwhipnach.

Best calf: 1 Kilwhipnach; 2 Low Dunasherry; 3 Rhoin.

Best team of calves: Kilwhipnach.

Overall prizes

Best team of cows: Kilwhipnach.

Best cow – Langa Salver: East Laggan.

Best calf – Parker Cup: East Laggan.

Opposite season calf: Kilwhipnach.

Best team of calves – David Henderson Cup: Dippen.

Best yoke – Rodney J Lines Cup: Killocraw.

Best overall herd – John H Warnock Cup: Kilwhipnach.