Bowlers roll up the carpet following successful indoor season

Campbeltown Bowling Club 2022 carpet bowls prizewinners.

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Campbeltown Bowling Club enjoyed its busiest week of the winter season last week which came to a climax on Friday night with the carpet prize giving and a ladies v gents match which finished 33-23 to the gents.

From left: Angus Brodie (president), Hugh McCorkindale, Neil Maguire, Robert Todd and David Brown.

On Thursday, March 24, the Andrew Thomson-sponsored Open Singles came to a conclusion after two well-contested semi-finals, with an excellent final pairing of Robert Todd and Neil Maguire battling it out for the honours.

The lead changed hands several times before Neil secured victory in the 11th end to clinch the title.

Well done everyone including the beaten semi-finalists Hugh McCorkindale and David Brown.

From left: Jean Miller, Maureen MacInnes (ladies’ president) and Doreen McMillan.

The Mary Meenan Memorial Singles was held on Sunday, March 20, with another successful day’s bowling concluding with an exciting final contested between Jean Miller and Doreen McMillan.

In the end Doreen emerged triumphant.

‘Well done to all who took part,’ said a club spokesperson.

The full list of prize-winners for the 2022 season are as follows: Championship: winner, J Mccormick; runner-up, R Todd. Ladies’ championship: winner, L Brodie; runner-up, J Miller. Burnett Cup: winner, H McCorkindale; runner-up, R Todd. J B Buchanan: winner, M MacInnes; runner-up, S Gilchrist. B and D: winner, R Todd; runner-up, A Brodie Jnr. Ian Johnston: winner, R Coffield; runner-up, D Brown. John Bannatyne: winner, D Brown; runner-up, N Maguire. Men’s Pairs: winners, D Brown/A Brodie Snr; runners-up, J McCormick/D MacInnes. Ladies’ Pairs: winners, C McEachran/J Johnston; runners-up, M Johnston/M McIntyre. Men’s Mixed: winners, R Coffield/L Brodie; runners-up, G Allan/J Andrew. Ladies’ Mixed: winners, J Miller/D Brown; runners-up S Gilchrist/R Law. Tuesday Night: winner, R Todd.

Campbeltown Bowling Club will welcome the 2022 summer season with its green opening on Saturday, April 9.