Postponed prize-giving recognises school’s outstanding students

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

On the final day of the first school term, Campbeltown Grammar School (CGS) held an intimate prizegiving ceremony to recognise and celebrate pupils’ significant academic success.

With schools still unable to invite family and friends into buildings amid the coronavirus pandemic, the ceremony was held for staff and pupils only.

Some of the students have already graduated but those still at school were presented with their prizes by Sam Stewart, acting head teacher, during the awards ceremony.

‘In any given year, the amount of hard work, dedication and commitment young people require to demonstrate in order to attain and achieve is inspirational but even more so in a further year of disruption as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic,’ said Miss Stewart.

‘Their awards clearly demonstrate their resilience and determination to succeed despite the challenges faced.

‘These young people, both those who remain with us as well as those who have moved on to life beyond CGS, are a credit to not only themselves but their families and CGS.’


Endowed prizes: W S McDonald Prize for French: Andreea Malai. School Prize for Graphic Communication: Beth MacPherson. Prize for Technology – Practical Cake Craft: Brodie MacLaren. Helen Hall Prize for Business Management: Brodie MacLaren. A & M Banks Memorial Prize for English: Caryn Kerr. School Prize for Spanish: Caryn Kerr. School Prize for History: Caryn Kerr. School Prize for Physical Education: Jane Scott. School Prize for Music Technology: Kyle Paterson. Norma Deane Memorial Prize for Music: Kyle Paterson. May Paterson Prize for Administration: Lauren MacKinnon. Hutcheon Prize for Mathematics: Lisa McKellar. Alexander M Stevenson Memorial Prize for Geography: Lisa McKellar. School Prize for Biology: Lisa McKellar. Sir James Gulliver Prize for Chemistry: Richard Semple. Richard Lee Memorial Prize for Computing: Ruairi Barbour. Judi Angus Memorial Prize for Art: Rhona Lee. Argyll College Inspirational Young Person of the Year: Casey MacKenzie.

Excellent Achievement Awards: Chemistry: Avery Russell. Physical Education: Beth Bannatyne. Music: Emily Bennie. Biology: Emily Bennie. English: Jane Scott. Mathematics: Jane Scott. Geography: Jane Scott. Practical Cake Craft: Keryn Graham. Business Management: Lizzie Bell. Administration: Mary Thomson.

Dux prize-winners 2020-21, for outstanding achievement in scholarship: Lisa McKellar and Caryn Kerr.