Mayberry is ploughing match master

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Kintyre Agricultural Society’s annual ploughing match took place at Bleachfield Farm last Saturday, nearly eight months later in the year than usual.

The society had hoped it could be held in March, as it typically is, but that wasn’t possible because of Covid guidelines at the time.

It was thought the 2021 event may have to be cancelled completely until an excellent dry stubble field was offered by Robert McKerral at Bleachfield and it was able to go ahead on Saturday.

This was in no small part due to the hard work of president Malcolm Ronald and his team in the days leading up to the competition.

An excellent entry of 15 competitors took part and, despite a few heavy showers early in the day and a very unusual break from one of the competitors, a keenly contested competition took place.

Past society president Michael Mayberry was announced the champion, winning the Kintyre Agricultural Society Cup and qualifying for the RHAS ploughing match medal.

Andrew Ronald, Laggan, and Thomas Cameron, Gartvaigh, were the judges for the day.

Kintyre Agricultural Society thanked Robert for hosting the ploughing match, all competitors for taking part, Andrew and Thomas for judging, all those who donated prize money and Carole Armour for catering.

Spectators and competitors on the field at Bleachfield Farm.
Spectators and competitors on the field at Bleachfield Farm.


Class 1 (under 12 inch): 1 Michael Mayberry. Extra prizes: Best break: Michael Mayberry; Straightest: Michael Mayberry; Best first six furrows: Michael Mayberry; Best last six furrows: Michael Mayberry; Best ins and outs: Michael Mayberry; Best finish: Michael Mayberry.

Class 2 (12 inch and over): 1 Paul Newall, 2 Thomas Ralston, 3 Willie Reid. Extra prizes: Best break: Willie Reid; Straightest: Paul Newall; Best first six furrows: Willie Reid; Best last six furrows: Paul Newall; Best ins and outs: Gavin Reid; Best finish: Paul Newall.

Class 3 (reversible): 1 Richard McCrindle, 2 Mitchell Woodrow, 3 James Young, 4 Robert McDonald. Extra prizes: Best break: Mitchell Woodrow; Best first six furrows: Richard McCrindle; Straightest: Richard McCrindle; Best last six furrows: Richard McCrindle; Best ins and outs: Drew McKendrick; Best finish: Mitchell Woodrow.

Special prizes: First on field: Drew McKendrick; First finished: Gavin Reid; Least experienced: Mitchell Woodrow; Youngest competitor: Mitchell Woodrow; Furthest Travelled: Mitchell Woodrow; Oldest competitor: Willie Reid; Best looking ploughman: Willie Reid; Hardest Luck: Stuart Newlands; Worst plot: Paul Newall; Tidiest yoke: Gavin Reid; Best diagonal break: Stuart Newlands.

Tractor prizes: Best maintained: Stuart McConnachie; Oldest tractor: Paul Newall; Newest tractor: Robert McDonald.

Cup winners: Kintyre Agricultural Society Cup and winner of the RHAS Medal: Michael Mayberry. Messrs Ralston Cup for winner in non-medal class: Paul Newall. John Cullen Cup for winner of reversible class: Richard McCrindle. John McKay Cup for best lot by 25-year-old or younger: Mitchell Woodrow. Glenside Cup for most points using Case/International tractor: James Young. Hamilton Bros Cup for most points using Massey Ferguson tractor: Mitchell Woodrow. Ford Cup for most points using a Ford tractor: Michael Mayberry.

Willie Reid won a number of prizes in the 12 inch and over class as well as being named the oldest competitor and best looking ploughman.
Willie Reid won a number of prizes in the 12 inch and over class as well as being named the oldest competitor and best looking ploughman.