Weekend of golfing action at Machrihanish

Machrihanish Golf Club.
Machrihanish Golf Club.

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

More than 60 competitors took to the championship course at Machrihanish Golf Club to compete for the Lyle Barr Memorial Quaich last Saturday.

The course was running hard and fast following the recent spell of dry weather making scoring conditions tricky.

Winner of the quaich with a score of -7 was Alistair O’May. Runner-up was Hector McMurchy on -5, with Andrew Robertson third on -2.

The scratch prize went to Stephen Kelly with a great level par round of 70.

The senior winner was Ian MacKinnon with a score of 77.

The late Lyle Barr was a prodigious hitter of the golf ball and, in maintaining his memory and achievements, there is always a long driving prize associated with the quaich.

This year the prize was for the longest drive off the first tee and the winner with a great ball strike into the south-easterly breeze was Andrew Robertson.

The same day, on the Pans course, the Centenary Trophy was keenly contested by the ladies.

Helen Bapty emerged victorious on the day with a fine 65, narrowly beating Mary McIntyre by one shot.

On Sunday, the July Medal was played over testing conditions on the championship course with a moderate to stiff south-easterly breeze making scoring difficult.

Gavin Brown and John Shaw tied first equal with excellent scores of five under 65s in the men’s division one handicap section, with Gavin winning on the better inward half.

In division two, Charlie McIntyre came out in front with a level par round of 70, narrowly beating Grant Grant also on the better inward half.

The ladies’ division was won by Suzanne Chase with an excellent score of one under par 71.

The senior winner was Ian MacKinnon with a score of 85.