SNP candidate named Argyll and Bute constituency MSP

Jenni Minto, newly-elected MSP for Argyll and Bute.

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

SNP candidate Jenni Minto has won the Argyll and Bute constituency seat in the Scottish Parliament election.

With 16,608 votes, Ms Minto finished ahead of Donald Cameron, Conservative, with 7,645 votes; Alan Reid, Liberal Democrats, 6,874 votes; and Lewis White, Scottish Labour, 2,436 votes.

The total number of votes cast was 33,728, of which 165 were spoiled/rejected.

The candidates gave one of the shortest sets of podium speeches Argyll and Bute has heard; usually the larger crowds turns the candidates into orators.

On the podium, Ms Minto said: ‘I think the people of Scotland have told us now that Scotland’s future is Scotland’s choice.’

One of the first people to phone her with congratulations was the retiring MSP Michael Russell, who Ms Minto will replace.

She thanked everyone who voted for her. ‘I feel incredibly humbled. It is such a privilege to represent this amazing constituency and its people.’

Mr Cameron and Mr Whyte thanked the election staff for conducting the event under such difficult circumstances.

Mr Reid said: ‘I am pleased that our share of the vote was higher than at the last two general elections. The LibDems are on the way back up in Argyll and Bute.’

The Argyll and Bute constituency voter turnout was announced as 67.8 per cent. The last Scottish Parliamentary election turnout was 60.4 per cent.