MacFarlane holds off challenge to win Tarbert trophy

The top three, from left: Bruce MacNab, winner Kenny MacFarlane and Iain Macalister.
The top three, from left: Bruce MacNab, winner Kenny MacFarlane and Iain Macalister.

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Going into the final two rounds of the club championship at Tarbert Golf Club last weekend, Kenny MacFarlane held a four-shot lead over Archie Black and Iain Macalister.

Playing in the second-last group, Bruce MacNab shot a level par 66 to move to the top of the leaderboard by one shot from Kenny and three from Iain, who shot 73 and 71 respectively. Jimmy Litster came in with a fine 69, while Lewis Preston and James Smyth had nett 63s to keep them in the hunt for the nett trophy.

Some interesting new pin positions greeted the players in excellent conditions on Sunday August 30. As can happen in championships things changed quickly, with Bruce holding a three-shot lead at one point on the front nine and nine holes later Kenny had a three-shot lead.

With two holes to play, Kenny held the lead by one and, with an excellent birdie two at the 17th, led by two on the final hole. He was not going to let his lead slip and a par four at the last secured a well-deserved victory.

Best gross score on the day came from John MacNab with 66 and best nett for Peter Cupples on 60. A delighted club captain Kenny MacFarlane paid tribute to the hard-working green staff who had the course in excellent condition and thanked those who supported the event.

This weekend, members are asked to gather at 11.30am for a midday shotgun start in the ‘Wee Joe’ Memorial, while the following week is the James Mundell Memorial Open.

Results: Club championship: 1 Kenny MacFarlane 283; 2 Bruce MacNab 285; 3 Iain Macalister 288. Nett trophy: 1 Kenny MacFarlane 249; 2 Lewis Preston 253; 3 Archie Black 256. Senior championship: 1 Bruce MacNab 139; 2 Iain Macalister 144; 3 John MacNab 146. John Reid Quaich: 1 Bruce MacNab 123.