Islay’s Woodrow wins Kintyre ploughing match

The cup winners with judges Colin Crawford, left, and John Walker, right, are: Ian Barbour, Fraser Woodrow, Michael Mayberry and Robert MacDonald. Photo: Catherine Reid.

Want to read more?

At the start of the pandemic in March we took the decision to make online access to our news free of charge by taking down our paywall. At a time where accurate information about Covid-19 was vital to our community, this was the right decision – even though it meant a drop in our income. In order to help safeguard the future of our journalism, the time has now come to reinstate our paywall, However, rest assured that access to all Covid related news will still remain free. To access all other news will require a subscription, as it did pre-pandemic The good news is that for the whole of December we will be running a special discounted offer to get 3 months access for the price of one month. Thanks you for supporting us during this incredibly challenging time


We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

A break in the recent wet weather meant this year’s Kintyre Agricultural Society ploughing match could go ahead – but it was a wellies and oilskins affair.

There had been almost continuous wet weather in the six weeks prior but a drier spell in the week before the competition, and a drying wind on the day, meant Saturday’s contest was able to go ahead on an excellent stubble field at Machrihanish Farm by kind permission of the Pirie family.

This was due, in no small part, to the hard work of president Drew McKendrick and his team in the days leading up to the competition.

In a field of 15 competitors it was Fraser Woodrow, who had travelled from Islay, who was the overall winner on the day, picking up the RHAS ploughing match medal.

The judges were John Walker and Colin Crawford, and host Joan Pirie presented the prizes at the end of the competition.

Kintyre Agricultural Society would like to thank the Pirie family for hosting the ploughing match, all competitors, John and Colin for judging, all sponsors and Olly McLean for catering.

Results: Class 1 (Under 12 inch): 1 Michael Mayberry, 2 Ben Bannatyne. Extra prizes: Best break: Michael Mayberry. Straightest: Michael Mayberry. Best first six furrows: Michael Mayberry. Best last six furrows: Michael Mayberry. Best ins and outs: Michael Mayberry. Best finish: Michael Mayberry.

Class 2 (12 inch and over): 1 Paul Newall, 2 Thomas Ralston; 3 Jamie Reid: Extra prizes: best break: Thomas Ralston. Straightest: Paul Newall. Best first six furrows: Paul Newall. Best last six furrows: Iain McKendrick. Best ins and outs: Jamie Reid. Best finish: Paul Newall.

Class 3 (Reversible): 1 Fraser Woodrow, 2 Drew McKendrick, 3 Richard McCrindle. Extra prizes: Best break: Drew McKendrick. Best first six furrows: Fraser Woodrow. Straightest: Fraser Woodrow. Best last six furrows: Fraser Woodrow. Best ins and outs: Drew McKendrick. Best finish: Fraser Woodrow.

Special prizes: First on field: Richard McCrindle. First finished: Richard McCrindle. Least experienced: Lewis Anderson. Youngest competitor: Ben Bannatyne. Furthest travelled: Richard McCrindle. Oldest competitor: Gavin Reid. Best looking ploughman: Ben Bannatyne. Hardest luck: Murray Barbour. Worst plot: Jamie Reid. Tidiest yoke: Ian Barbour. Highest placed from outwith Kintyre: Fraser Woodrow.

Tractor prizes: Best maintained: Ben Bannatyne. Second best maintained: Jamie Reid. Oldest tractor: Michael Mayberry. Newest tractor: Fraser Woodrow.

Cup winners: Kintyre Agricultural Cup and winner of the RHAS Medal: Fraser Woodrow. Messrs Ralston Cup for winner in non-medal class: Michael Mayberry. John Cullen Cup for winner of Reversible Class: Fraser Woodrow. John McKay Cup for best lot by 25-year-old or younger: Robert MacDonald. Glenside Cup for most points using a Case/International tractor: Ian Barbour. Hamilton Bros Cup for most points using a Massey Ferguson tractor: Fraser Woodrow. Ford Cup for most points using a Ford tractor: Michael Mayberry.