Closely fought ploughing match at Largieside

Stephen Jones ploughing his plot with Finn and Joe and a ride on plough.

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Largieside ploughing match was held on Saturday at Beachmenach Farm, Tayinloan, by kind permission of Malcolm and Marion McDonald, with 18 ploughs working on the day.

This was followed by the prize giving and supper at the Argyll Hotel, Bellochantuy.


12-inch-and-over: 1 James McIndoe, 2 Michael Mayberry, 3 Paul Newall, 4 Jim Hamilton, 5 Jock Somerville, 6 Willie Reid, 7 Jock Sivewright, 8 Jamie Reid, 9 Neil Littleson, 10 Ben Bannatyne, 11 Gavin Reid.

Best break, James McIndoe; best first six furrows, James McIndoe; best last six furrows, James McIndoe; best outs and ins, Jock Sivewright; straightest, Paul Newall; best finish, James McIndoe.

Reversible: 1 Drew McKendrick, 2 Iain McKendrick, 3 Fraser MacPhail, 4 Robert McDonald.

Best break, Iain McKendrick; best first six furrows, Drew McKendrick; best last six furrows, Drew McKendrick; best outs and ins, Iain McKendrick; straightest, Fraser MacPhail; best finish, Drew McKendrick.


1 Geordie Robertson, 2 Benny Duncan, 3 Stephen Jones.

Best break, Benny Duncan; best first six furrows, Geordie Robertson; best last six furrows, Benny Duncan; best outs and ins, Geordie Robertson; straightest, Stephen Jones; best finish, Benny Duncan; best working pair, Stephen Jones; best gelding, Benny Duncan; tidiest turnout, Benny Duncan; best mare, Geordie Robertson.

General prizes

Worst lot, Neil Littleson; least assistance, Paul Newall; best maintained outfit, Ben Bannatyne;  best working plough, James McIndoe; hardest luck, Robert McDonald; furthest travelled, Benny Duncan; first finished, Robert MacDonald; first on field, Benny Duncan; oldest ploughman, Geordie Robertson; youngest ploughman, Ben Bannatyne; oldest tractor, Gavin Reid; newest tractor, Neil Littleson;  best looking ploughman, Michael Mayberry; best work by a ploughman from the Inner Hebrides, Ben Bannatyne.


Mr and Mrs Holder Shield for best overall, James McIndoe; Largieside Challenge Cup, restricted to Largieside, Michael Mayberry; Tayinloan Cup, restricted to Largie, Killean and Glenbarr, Neil Littleson; Glenside Tractors Trophy for best in reversible ploughing, Drew McKendrick; Glenside Tractors Trophy for best work by a Kaevernland plough, Paul Newall; Geordie MacFarlane Trophy for Best in horse ploughing, Geordie Robertson; Cup for best working horses, Stephen Jones.