Seventh annual Boys’ Brigade display

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Proud parents and friends turned out for the 1st Campbeltown Company Boys’ Brigade’s 7th annual display.

Guests of honour at the event in the the Lorne and Lowland Church Hall, on Friday June 21, were Irene Millar, president of the Church Guild, who presented the awards to the boys, and the Reverend William Crossan, chaplain to the company.

The items carried out by the boys highlighted the variety of activities that are typical of a normal company evening, ranging from games, musical items and singing.

During the evening, the group said farewell to three of its young leaders.

Heather Spree was thanked for her support over the past three years with the Anchor and Junior sections. Heather has now moved to live and work in Glasgow.

Heather Harper, who is leaving to take up studies in Glasgow, was also thanked for her help during the year. Although she has only been with the company for a year, she has been very effective in dealing with the boys and fitting in as a leader.

Nathan Armstrong started as a Junior boy in 2012 and was due to move up to the Company section but as there was no Company section he agreed to go along and help out and, over the past six years, has been a constant presence in the company. Nathan, who is also moving to Glasgow to study, will be sorely missed.

All three departing leaders were wished luck for the future and presented with gifts of appreciation by the boys.

Thanks were also expressed to Mrs Millar for presenting the awards, Rev Crossan for his words to the boys and Margaret Wallace for playing the piano, as well as Caitlyn Spree, Margaret Nimmo and Nigel Ferguson for all their help.

During May, the boys, as part of their community involvement, organised a coffee morning to raise funds for the Guide Dogs for the Blind Association and Kintyre Food Bank, raising a total of £300.

In June, Mary Ann Stewart, on behalf of the food bank, visited the company and was presented with a cheque for £150 by Anchor section member Jamie Stevenson. A cheque for £150 was sent to the Guide Dogs for the Blind Association in Hamilton.

The current session ended with a barbecue at Machrihanish last Wednesday.

The awards for 2018/19 are as follows: Ollie Graham, 2Y, six absences; Murray Mackay, 1Y, perfect only sickness (3); Findlay Wright, 1Y, five absences; Mason McFadyen, 1Y, only one absence; Liam Brodie, 3Y, perfect; Millar Mackay, 1Y, perfect only sickness (1); Jamie Stevenson, 2Y, three absences; Billy Gilchrist, 1Y, six absences; Charley Gilchrist, 3Y, one absence sickness (1); Kyle McQuaker, 1Y, perfect (including parades); Robert Reid, 2Y, two absences; Jay Tavendale, 2Y, seven absences; Shaun Borthwick, 1Y, five absences; Leo Boyuan, 1Y, four absences; Charl Lavery, 4Y, three absences; Evan Cook, 4Y, four absences; Harry Reid, 3Y, six absences; Charlie Black, 1Y, three absences; Jim Ewart, 4Y, 12 absences.

Nine shields were presented to: Kyle McQuaker and Liam Brodie for perfect attendances; Murray Mackay, Millar Mackay and Charley Gilchrist for perfect attendances apart from sicknesses; Mason McFadyen for only one absence; Robert Reid for only two absences; and Charl Lavery and Jamie Stevenson for only three absences.

Shields: Best Anchor: Kyle McQuaker. Best Junior: Charl Lavery. Best Anchor Boy Group: Davaar – Liam Brodie, Millar Mackay, Jamie Stevenson and Billy Gilchrist. Best Junior Group: Mull – Charl Lavery and Harry Reid.

One-year service badges: Murray Mackay, Findlay Wright, Mason McFadyen, Millar Mackay, Billy Gilchrist, Kyle McQuaker, Shaun Borthwick, Leo Boyuan, Charlie Black. Two-year service badges: Ollie Graham, Jamie Stevenson, Robert Reid, Jay Tavendale. Three-year service badges: Liam Brodie, Charley Gilchrist, Harry Reid. Four-year service badges: Charl Lavery, Evan Cook, Jim Ewart.

WWI badges: Kyle McQuaker, Leo Boyuan, Murray Mackay, Millar Mackay, Mason McFadyen.

Boys with guests, staff and leaders at the 7th annual display. KC_c27bb01

Concentration by Jim Ewart at ball and rope relay. KC_c27bb02

Grandmother versus grandson during the games. KC_c27bb03

Kyle McQuaker receiving the Best Anchor Boy award. KC_c27bb04

Boys preparing to sing. KC_c27bb05