Sure-footed Sharkey is the Crinan towpath winner

2019 Crinan Puffer winners.

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

From more than 80 pairs of running shoes strapped on for this year’s Crinan Puffer Kintyre man Dom Sharkey’s proved the quickest.

Sharkey may have taken the overall win but the record breaker was Hazel MacCormick from Edinburgh who beat the previous female mark with a time of 51 minutes and 43 seconds

Athletes from Dunoon, Campbeltown and all points of Mid Argyll joined the race billed as one of Scotland’s friendliest and most inclusive running events.

Organised annually by Lochgilphead’s Mid Argyll Community Pool (MACPool), the race starts at Crinan and follows the canal for eight miles to Ardrishaig.

The weather couldn’t make up its mind, with runners soaked in rain one minute then running in the sun the next.

That didn’t deter the racers who sprinted for their medal at the end of the road.

Kirsty Young, MACPool’s deputy manager said: ‘The Crinan Puffer is a fundraising event run by Mid Argyll Community Enterprises in aid of Mid Argyll Swimming Pool.

‘We would like to extend our thanks to our sponsors Scottish Sea Farms for their continued support and to all our volunteers and helpers who came out to help make the event a huge success.

‘We are delighted with the turn out we had on Sunday and despite the poor weather conditions we had some very fast times with the winning lady, Hazel MacCormick, taking a new ladies course record.’

Crinan Puffer full results: Overall and senior male:1 Dominic Sharkey, 48:45; 2 Kevin Campbell, 49:44; David Carey, 50:01. Senior female: 1 Hazel MacCormick, 51:43; 2 Ailsa Lopez, 58:16; 3 Laura Thomson, 1:02:56. Vintage male: 1 Brian Hughes, 51:58; 2 Andy Law, 54:29; 3 Peter Boyd, 1:06:17. Vintage female: 1 Jane Barrington, 1:11:47; 2 June MacLeod, 1:17:51; 3 Jacqueline Glass, 1:21:23. Super veteran male: 1 Ross Morley-Trapnell, 58:46; 2 Iain Crawford, 1:03:51; 3 Ronnie MacEachen, 1:04:40. Super veteran female: 1 Jean McLennan, 1:05:31; 2 Jacquie Maclean, 1:11:47; 3 Gail Williams, 1:11:58. Veteran male: 1 Iain McGougan, 55:19; 2 Roger Stewart, 57:10; 3 Matthew Watkiss, 57:37. Veteran female: 1 Kathyn Munro, 1:02:21; 2 Morag Neilson, 1:04:38; 3 Rebecca Fulton, 1:05:03.

The winners. Photo by Gavin Brown. no_a13crinanpuffer09

First place overall winner Dominic Sharkey. 51_a13CrinanPuffer01

First place male veteran, Iain McGougan. 51_a13CrinanPuffer09