Badminton aces miss out on Argyll Cup

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Badminton players from Campbeltown joined forces with those from Mid Argyll to battle for the Argyll Cup.

Players, as well as those from Oban, travelled for the recent competition, this year hosted by Dunoon Badminton Association.

The mixed doubles competition has been running for more than 60 years.

Dunoon prevailed to win the A cup, while Oban picked up the C cup.

Players enjoyed a well-earned dinner dance, organised by Dunoon, after the competition which was described as ‘a great end of a good day’s badminton’.

The Mid Argyll Badminton Association team. Back row, from left: Rhys Blair, Neil Littleson, Lorna Armour, Neil John MacPhail, Sarah Muir, Catherine Muir, Ali McDonald, Simon Morrison, John Kennedy, Andy Weir and Gavin Brown. From row, from left: Nicole Thomson, Fiona Coffield, Jane Scott, Lindsey Irwin, Lauren MacKinnon, Rachel MacPhail and Stephanie Mitchell. NO_c06badminton01