Champion piper lifts Willie McCallum Memorial Trophy

The Pipers from left: Callum Beaumont, Alasdair Henderson, Gordon McCready, Willie McCallum, Cameron MacDougall, Roddy MacLeod MBE and Finlay Johnston.

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

The cream of pipers played their best notes as they attempted to win the new Willie McCallum Memorial Trophy at this year’s Springbank Invitational.

The trophy was presented to the Kintyre Piping Society (KPS) by Springbank Distillery and awarded to the champion piper Callum Beaumont.

The following pipers took part in the prestigious competition: Willie McCallum, Roddy MacLeod, Callum Beaumont, Finlay Johnston, Alasdair Henderson, Gordon McCready and Cameron MacDougall.

In the recent Seafield Hotel, Campbeltown, competition Mr Beaumont was placed second in the Piobaireachd winning the Carmichael Quaich, third in the MSR and second in the 6/8 march winning him the Silver Medal.

Roddy  MacLeod MBE won the Argyll Arms Trophy for Piobaireachd and was third in the 6/8 March winning him the Bronze Medal for being second overall.

Willie McCallum won the Serco Trophy for MSR and was fourth in the Hornpipe and Jig.

The McFadyen’s Transport Ltd Trophy for locally composed 6/8 Marches went to Gordon McCready with the Committee Members Trophy for Hornpipe and Jig also going to Gordon.

Only the Piobaireachd and MSR results count for the overall placings.

The prizes were presented by Springbank’s director of sales and marketing Ranald Watson and Calum McFadyen, managing director of McFadyen’s Transport Ltd.

A KPS spokesman said: ‘Thanks go to the pipers, judges and to the Bean-an-Tighe for making the day such a success.

‘The society would also like to thank Flora, Marion and their staff of the Seafield Hotel for their work keeping everyone fed and watered, and to all who came along to see these world class pipers, and all who donated prizes to the raffle.

‘We would also like to thank all of our sponsors and to our main sponsor Springbank Distillers for their continued support.’

The full results and tunes were as follows: Piobaireachd: 1 R. MacLeod MBE – Lament for MacSwan of Roaig, 2 C. Beaumont – Mrs Smith’s Salute, 3 G. McCready – Lady Margaret MacDonald’s Salute, 4 A. Henderson – War or Peace (Gesto).

MSR: 1 W. McCallum, Marches: Captain Campbell of Drum A Voisk  and  Kintyre Piping Society, piping, Springbank Invitational, bagpipes,Murdo MacLeod, Strathspeys: Dora MacLeod  and  Lady MacKenzie of Gairloch, Reels: Roddy MacDonald’s Fancy  and Lt. Col. DJS Murray; 2 F. Johnston Marches: John MacColl’s March to Kilbowie Cottage and  Hugh Alexander Low of Tiree, Strathspeys: Cat Lodge and Caber Feidh, Reels: Thompson’s Dirk and  The Rejected Suitor; 3 C. Beaumont Marches : The Glengarry Gathering  and  Mrs John MacColl, Strathspeys : The Top of Craigvenow and Cameronian Rant, Reels: Fiona MacLeod  and  The Cockeral in the Creel; 4 A. Henderson Marches: Donald MacLellan of Rothesay and The Duke of Roxburghe’s Farewell to the Blackmount Forrest, Strathspeys: The Caledonian Society of London and Glentruim, Reels:Mrs MacPherson of Inveran and Drumlithie.

6/8 March (Local Composers): 1 G. McCready Kintyre Piping Society, 2 C. Beaumont Tug Argan Gap, 3 R. MacLeod MBE North Berwick Highland Games, 4 A. Henderson MacNeal’s of Ugadale.

Hornpipe and Jig: 1 G. McCready  – The Captain’s Pledge and  The Skylark’s Ascension, 2  F. Johnston – Joe McGann’s Fiddle and Kenneth MacDonald, 3 C. MacDougall – High Level and  Angus John MacNeil of Barra, 4 W. McCallum – Dr. MacInnes’ Fancy and Center’s Bonnet.

Judges:  John Wilson, PM Iain Duncan and Murray Henderson. Bean-an-Tighe Rhona Lightfoot.

Ranald Watson presents the Willie McCallum Memorial Trophy to Callum Beaumont. NO_c39invitational02

Calum McFadyen presents the McFadyen’s Transport Ltd Trophy for locally composed 6/8 Marches to Gordon McCready. NO_c39invitational03