Nominate a councillor for an award

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Nominations are open to showcase the best of Argyll and Bute’s elected representatives.

Kintyre residents  are being  encouraged to nominate a councillor for an award at theLocal Government Information Unit’s (LGiU) first Scottish Councillor Achievement Awards.

More than 1,200 councillors across Scotland represent and support their communities.

LGiU Scotland aims to recognise and reward those councillors who go the extra mile for their constituents.

The awards are sponsored by fund managers CCLA, investors for local authorities.

Jonathan Carr-West, chief executive of the LGiU said: ‘I’m delighted to launch the first Scottish Councillor Achievement Awards and identify some of the best locally elected members in Scotland.

‘Councillors play a crucial role in keeping our communities connected and I am looking forward to celebrating their success.’

There are six award categories celebrating the varied work of councillors:  Community Champion: for councillors who have gone above and beyond in supporting their communities; Finance: for councillors who have shown vision in maximising resources available to the council to best support residents; Digital: for councillors who have been particularly innovative or inclusive in helping to roll out digital solutions; Health Integration: for councillors who have pioneered new ways of approaching health and social care provision; Education: for councillors who have performed outstanding work in the field of education; Leader of the Year: to celebrate the work of an exceptional council leader.

Nominations close on September 20 and a panel of judges will select a winner for each category.

Awards will be presented on Thursday November 29 at a ceremony in Edinburgh’s City Chambers. There will be a keynote address from Kevin Stewart MSP.

Councillors can be nominated at: