Kintyre’s champion of champions is Killocraw calf

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

A Kintyre primary pupil and his beef calf won Kintyre shows champion of champions rosette.

Fraser Lines, 10, was also the best of five youngsters, including his 12-year-old sister Megan sister, who came second, in the best calf led by a juvenile class.

In addition to the animal classes large crowds were awed by stuntman Dangerous Steve’s fairground feats, juggling fire and chainsaws at two shows during the afternoon.

The complete list of trophies awarded was as follows: Coll Cup, best Ayrshire calf: Alison Wylie, Machrihanish. Kintyre Farmers Cup, winner of Ayrshire heifer (17): T M Ralston & Sons, East Drumlemble. Merchants Cup, most points Ayrshire: T M Ralston & Sons, East Drumlemble. Society Cup, best Ayrshire home-bred: T M Ralston & Sons, East Drumlemble. Alf King Cup, best Ayrshire (milk section): T M Ralston & Sons, East Drumlemble. Thomas Miller Cup, Ayrshire young stock champion: T M Ralston & Sons, East Drumlemble. Tom Douglas Cup, overall Ayrshire champion: T M Ralston & Sons, East Drumlemble. Volac Cup, best Holstein calf: Erin Ralston, Machrihanish. Holstein breeders ID Smith Cup, winner 8,000kg class: A & J Pirie, Machrihanish. Alister Cameron Cup, winner of Holstein milk records class: A & J Pirie, Machrihanish. John Cullen Salver, Holstein young stock champion: Erin Ralston, Machrihanish. Kintyre Holstein Breeders Cup, winner Holstein heifer (30): A & J Pirie, Machrihanish. Drumalea Cup, champion Holstein: John Ralston, Kilkivan. Silver Vase, best exhibit 14-25-year-old dairy: Kathryn Semple, Kikeddan. Ian McDonald Rose Bowl, dairy interbreed pair: Gavin Semple, Kilkeddan. Parker Cup, reserve dairy champion: T M Ralston & Sons, East Drumlemble. Creamery Cup, supreme dairy champion: John Ralston, Kilkivan. Kintara Cup, best calf led by juvenile: Fraser Lines, Killocraw. Corson’s Rose Bowl. best cross bred suckled calf: Fraser Lines, Killocraw. McFadyen Cup, most points in beef section: D W Semple, Dippen. Daniel Riddell Cup, best opposite sex in beef classes: D W Semple, Dippen. Messrs Wallace Cup, champion beef animal: Fraser Lines, Killocraw. Wm McLatchie Memorial Cup, best Clydesdale bred in Kintyre: Callum MacPhail, Garcalfra. Society Cup, best Clydesdale bred by exhibitor: Callum MacPhail, Garcalfra. John McCallum Memorial Plate, best Clydesdale: Callum MacPhail, Garcalfra. David MacPhail & Son Cup, best Clydesdale foal: Callum MacPhail, Garcalfra. David Smith Cup, champion Clydesdale: Callum MacPhail, Garcalfra. Duncan MacKinnon Trophy, best horse dressed and in harness: Michelle Mayberry, Bellochantuy. Arnicle Cup, best B/F milk ewe and lamb: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. Duke’s Cup, best group of three B/F: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. John R Semple Cup, best B/F lamb: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. Maxwell Cup, best B/F male bred by exhibitor: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. Argyll Herald Jubilee Cup, best home-bred B/F sheep: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. Calder Cup, reserve champion, confined: Gillespie & Preston, Crosshill. Archie Black Memorial Cup, confined B/F champion: Gillespie & Preston, Crosshill. James McPhee & Son Cup, most points in B/F section: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. Sanda Cup, champion B/F sheep: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. Devonia Bowl, most points Ayrshire/B/F sheep: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. John D McConnachie Cup, champion Blue Leicester: Jean McLachlan, Killdaloig. Jim Martin/Scotmin Cup, champion Suffolk: Jean McLachlan, Killdaloig. Society Cup, champion Mule/Greyface: J & M Turner, Killdaloig. Thomas Brown Quaich, champion Texel: Sheena Woodrow, Newmains. McTaggart Cup, best border Leicester: Rosie Cannon, Killdaloig. Mary Lang Memorial Trophy, best Jacob: Alex Wilson, Baraskomill. Messrs Jackson/Sym Plate, best pen of fat lambs: Ian McKendrick, High Dalrioch. Tithebarn Cup, overall sheep champion: J & M Turner, Killdaloig. Society Cup, champion dog confined to Kintyre: Enid McMurchy. Society Quaich, best old tractor: Jackie Morrison. Champion of champions: Fraser Lines, Killocraw.