Ultra cycle’s ‘Horrible ascents and wonderful descents’

Perth Road Runner Eddie Torrie may be festooned in water bottles but it was a pint of Fyne Ales finest he craved. 

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

‘Every horrible ascent is rewarded with a wonderful descent,’ said last Saturday’s winner of the Kintyre Way Ultra bike race.

Calum Simpson, from Broxburn, competing in the event for the first time, polished off the 73-mile route in six hours 28 minutes.

At the finish Calum said: ‘It’s awesome and I’d love to do it again.’

There was drama in the finishing miles of the sportive cycle race, run for the first time this year. Mark Jordan had led the event before a series of punctures left him relying on eventual winner, Campbell Simms (03:41:21), for a spare tube at Ballochgair.

Graham Connolly was first off the mark, leaving Tayinloan hall at 8am, in the 36-mile ultra marathon and held his poition to win in 04:50:03. First lady home was Lucy Downie in 05:51:47.

The tented finish line on Kinloch Green was a popular idea and as the mist shifted and some warm sun appeared, many spectators sampled Fyne Ales’ brews and Argyll Bakeries Danish pastries.

In addition, children raced round on the grass all afternoon, blowing bubbles from canisters supplied by the Funky Chicken tent.

The full Kintyre Way ultra marathon results in order of finishing: Graham Connolly 04:50:03; Lee Muir 05:08:20; Martin Terry 05:31:13; Callum Elder   05:32:09; Eddie Torrie 05:32:34; John Murray 05:37:10; Aron Hollywood 05:38:32; Ally Mccoll 05:41:40; Alisdair O’May 05:44:53; Lucy Downie 05:51:47; David  Blane 05:53:18; Mark Wheeler 05:54:35; Alistair Cox 05:56:17; Iain Campbell 05:57:06; Laura MacDonald 05:57:43; Fiona Watt 06:00:07; Simon Smith 06:00:08; Daniel Jackson 06:01:29; Wim Keygnaert 06:08:02; Alasdair McCallum 06:14:19; Kevin Craig 06:16:49; Sean McFarlane 06:24:12; Graham Arthur 06:25:42; John Dale 06:29:47; David Townson 06:29:57; Richard Preston 06:29:57; Ralph Hill 06:32:14; Richard Birch 06:34:06; Kirsty Burnett 06:37:36; David Ferguson 06:40:44; Euan Macdonald 06:41:31; Robert Woodrow 06:47:01; Michael Blair 06:51:37; Nigel Douglas 06:54:21; Gordon Sandler 06:55:57; David Leonard  06:57:26; Paul Cooke 06:57:50; Tony Hastie 07:00:07; Ross Thorburn 07:00:32; Laura Brown 07:03:27; Matthew Farr 07:03:28; John Donnelly        07:05:25; Mark Harker 07:11:03; Grant McLean 07:11:59; Sam Jones 07:12:43; Kate O’Brien Temple 07:21:11; Robin Ramsay 07:23:55; Mike TIerney 07:24:34; Graham Butler 07:25:55; Helen   Blake 07:27:50; Gerinta Walker 07:33:59; Sue Anderson 07:40:01; Neil Grobler 07:40:02; Malcolm Hughes 07:50:03; Bridget Halewood 08:08:28; Edward Laughton 08:10:01; Hazel Pearson 08:10:16; Imogen Rickell 08:15:08; Michael Kerr 08:15:10; Oliver Carter 08:15:10; Craig MacMillan 08:20:20; Heather Jackson 08:20:21; Jacqui Sandler 08:27:25; Kevin MacLean 08:29:26; Mark Snowden 08:30:21; Jelle van der Velde 08:49:05; Maaike Hornstra 08:49:10; Pauline Vallance 09:04:59; Nicholas Dowley 09:25:54; Keith Blackett 09:25:58; Judith Robinson 09:28:19; Stephen Moul 09:33:56; Jason Newton 09:33:56. Full running relay team results in order of finishing: The Cereal Killers 05:08:02 male; Uphill Hurriers 05:35:36 mixed; Big Mary 05:43:02 male; The Tangy 3 05:50:42 mixed; Team Reluctant 06:28:15 mixed; The madwives 07:09:52 female; Midton Mafia 07:26:47 mixed; Midton Motivators 07:26:47 mixed; Midton Runners 07:26:48 mixed; Kishorn 07:58:39 female.

Main cycle race: Calum Simpson 06:28:53; Rod Weir 06:35:24; Campbell Davidson 06:38:58; Gordon Dickson 06:52:42; Bosco Flood 07:08:50; Douglas Philip 07:11:50; Cirdan Heughan 07:11:46; Steven Romans 07:17:02; Russell Stout 07:21:43; Rob Wainwright 07:24:52; Alan Manson 07:21:52; Roland Jones 07:28:51; John McCracken 07:54:19; Neil Kininmonth 07:58:30; David Rice 07:59:25; Graham Smart 08:07:10; Lucy Heycock 08:17:26; David Sandercock 08:29:26; Julie Taylor-Flood 08:36:49; Michael Robertson 09:03:38; Rachael Halifax 09:39:54; Andy Gregory 09:37:05; Nathan Andrew 09:36:18; Jon Soal 09:37:20; Malcolm Grant 09:37:29; Leigh Murray 09:49:43; Joseph McGhee 09:48:45; Andrew Ward 09:53:27; Stephen McShannon 10:01:22; Dave Hogg 10:05:53; Graham Wilson 10:05:55; Did not finish (DNF): Craig Hudson; Gordon Binnie; Andrew Thomson; Zarley McAlpine; Ruari Lambert; Fiona Berrie; Ewan Ritchie; Madeline Robinson; Mark Bamford; Carol Collis; Martin Hadlington.

Sportive cycling results: Campbell Sims 03:41:21; Mark Jordan 03:46:40; Iain Reid 04:39:47; Adrian How 04:58:35; Iain Smith 05:03:58; Paul Kefford 05:15:39; John Hardie 05:17:47; Gordon Barr 05:48:14; Calum Cais 05:56:32; James MacPherson 05:58:00; Stephen McKeown 05:58:01; Rod Crawford      05:58:02; Dougie Vipond 06:00:50; Sam Groves 06:04:52; Douglas Gough 06:12:12; Malcolm McFadzean 06:19:35 Alex Samborek 06:19:41; John Miller 06:32:26; Gordon Day 06:44:29; David McCracken 07:04:50; Craig Harvey 07:34:29.