Kintyre’s junior pipe championship

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Junior piping champions from Glasgow and Edinburgh took top honours at the Kintyre Piping Society junior championship

At the Ardshiel and Seafield Hotels, last Saturday, the overall under 15 champion was Bobby Allen(Glasgow) who won the PM Ronald McCallum MBE Shield and the Royal Scottish Pipers’ Society Bronze Star.
The 15-17 overall champion was Brodie Watson – Massey(Edinburgh) and he won the McCallum Memorial Cup and the PM John D. Burgess Medal.

A spokesperson said: ‘The Society would like to thank Flora, Marion and the staff of the hotels for all their help on the day.

‘Thanks also to all who helped run the competition, the judges Alasdair Henderson,Fiona Mitchell, Julie Blue and Hamish Colville.

‘Tuning the pipes were John Brown and Ian McKerral and the hard working committee.

‘To all the young chanter players and pipers whose excellent performances entertained the audiences throughout the day.

‘To Pipedreams, McCallum Bagpipes, the College of Piping and the National Piping Centre for donating prizes for the competitions and finally to all who donated prizes for the raffle.’

Full results were as follows: The Royal Celtic Society Cup: Chanter 10 and under: 1 Aiden Brodie, 2 Evie Judge, 3 Mark Robertson, 4 Grace McTaggart,
5 Rio Arkell, 6 Hannah Millar.  The Pipe Major J. M. MacKenzie Cup: Chanter 11 – 14: 1 Drew McLellan, 2 Ewan O’May, 3 Erin Cameron. The Dugald McShannon Cup: March on bagpipes, novice: 1 Amy Lowrie, 2 Isla Campbell, 3 Christina McTaggart. The George C. Halbert Shield: March under 15: 1 Bobby Allen, 2 Joshua Reilly, 3 Andrew Renton. The Archibald Johnston Memorial Cup:  Strathspey and reel under 15: 1 Bobby Allen, 2 Joshua Reilly, 3 Murray O’May. The Argyllshire Gathering Trophy: Piobaireachd ground only: 1 Matthew McKerral, 2 Murray O’May, 3 Andrew Renton, 4 Gregor Campbell. The Dr Flora MacAulay Cup, Piobaireachd under 15: 1 Bobby Allen, 2 Joshua Reilly. The Margaret McCallum Memorial Cup: Two x 2/4 marches under 15: 1 Bobby Allen, 2 Murray O’May, 3 Joshua Reilly.  The Campbell McGougan Trophy slow air under 15: 1 Bobby Allen, 2 Andrew Renton, 3 Gregor Campbell. Kintyre Piping Society Trophy: March 15 to 17: 1 Jamie Niall Campbell, 2 Ross Conner, 3 Brodie Watson-Massey  The Charles Bowen Cup : Strathspey and reel 15 to 17: 1 Brodie Watson-Massey, 2 Ross Conner, 3 Jamie Niall Campbell. The Pipe Major Willie Wilson Cup: Hornpipe and jig 15 – 17: 1 Brodie Watson-Massey, 2 Ross Conner, 3 Jamie Niall Campbell.  The Campbell Challenge Cup: Piobaireachd 15 – 17: 1 Brodie Watson-Massey, 2 Jamie Niall Campbell, 3 Luke Kennedy. The Hector MacNeill M.A.Cup: Two x 2/4 marches 15 – 17: 1 Jamie Niall Campbell, 2 Ross Conner, 3 Brodie Watson-Massey.  The Netta McGougan Memorial Trophy MSR 15 – 17: judges choice: 1 Luke Kennedy, 2 Brodie Watson-Massey, 3 Tomas Young.

Overalls and special trophies:  Youngest competitor: Rio Arkell -Campbeltown. Best local in event: The Margaret Anderson Memorial Trophy: 1 Aiden Brodie. The John Sinclair Memorial Trophy: 2 Drew McLellan, The Murdo MacLeod M.A. Memorial Trophy: 3 Amy Lowrie. The George Cathcart Shield for best local in events four and 5 Andrew Renton. The Dugald Stewart Memorial Cup for best local in events 10 and 11: Ross Conner. The Islay Trophy presented to the girl with most points: Hazel Whyte – Larkhall. The Friends of Ireland Trophy for the most promising competitor not in the prize list in events one and two: Ciara Wallace. The Pipe Major Ronald MacCallum MBE Shield and the Royal Scottish Pipers Society Bronze Star, presented to the junior champion: Bobby Allen – Glasgow. The McCallum Memorial Cup and the Pipe Major John D. Burgess Medal presented to the senior champion: Brodie Watson – Massey – Edinburgh.

Pipers from left: Bobby Allen, Luke Kennedy, Ross Conner, Jamie Niall Campbell, Brodie Watson-Massey Andrew Renton and Matthew McKerral. NO_c15pipingsociety01