McCorkindale’s indoor bowls success

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

A Campbeltown Bowling Club indoor star rolled his way to an armful of trophies.

A club spokesperson said: ‘The undoubted player of the season was Hugh McCorkindale who collected a commendable five trophies.’

The curtain was finally brought down on the indoor bowling season last Friday night when the carpet prize giving was held in the Stronvaar clubhouse.

The full list of winners and runners-up is as follows: Championship: Hugh McCorkindale, runner-up Alex Black; Ladies’ championship: Lorraine Brodie, runner-up Maureen MacInnes; Burnett cup: Hugh McCorkindale, runner-up George Allen; J B Buchanan memorial cup: Catherine McEachran, runner-up Lorraine Brodie; B and D cup: David Brown, runner-up George Allen; Ian Johnston cup: Hugh McCorkindale, runner-up David Brown; John Bannatyne cup: Hugh McCorkindale, runner-up Catherine McEachran, Men’s pairs: George Allen and Alan McSporran, runners-up David Brown and Angus Brodie; Ladies’ pairs: Jana McPherson and Moira Wareham, runners-up Susan Gilchrist and Fiona Middleton; Men’s mixed pairs: George Allen and Jana McPherson, runners-up Hugh McCorkindale and Duncan MacInnes; Ladies’ mixed pairs: Catherine McEachran and George Allen, runners-up Jean Miller and Ralph Hill; Tuesday night league: Hugh McCorkindale.