Badminton battles as top primary prizes netted

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

By Hannah O’Hanlon

A Glenbarr boy had a smashing time at Kintyre’s primary schools’ badminton competition, winning all the categories he entered.

Ruairidh Campbell netted the top prize in the P7 singles, boys’ doubles, alongside Lewis Gilchrist, and mixed doubles, with his sister Violet, last Saturday, after children from across the area battled it out for hours in the Victoria Hall.

The only girl to make it onto the singles results list was Emily McMurchy, who aced the P4/5 category.

Aimee MacPhail proved she had racket proficiency when she smashed the girls’ doubles with Imogen Todd, and came second alongside Calum Scott in the closely contested mixed doubles final.

Before the trophies and medals were presented by Catherine Dobbie, Anne Littleson thanked Linsay MacPhail for helping her organise the event, as well as the umpires, parents and friends who supported the event, and the competitors who took part.

She added: ‘The competition is in its 18th year and we had more than 40 entries which was considerably up on recent years.’

The next competition which may interest the youngsters is the Argyll and Bute primary badminton championships, for P5-P7s, in March.

Results: Singles: P4/5: winner Emily McMurchy, runner up Daniel Graham; P6: winner Daniel Semple, runner up Daniel McEachran; P7: winner Ruairidh Campbell, runner up Calum Scott. Girls’ doubles: winners Imogen Todd and Aimee MacPhail, runners up Violet Campbell and Kirstie Renton. Boys’ doubles: winners Ruairidh Campbell and Lewis Gilchrist, runners up Calum Scott and Ewan O’May. Mixed doubles: winners Violet Campbell and Ruairidh Campbell, runners up Aimee MacPhail and Calum Scott. Other prizes (chosen by umpires): Most improved: Erin Ralston, Cameron Ralston, Ryan Johnstone, Liam Bennie. Good effort: Hannah Millar, Alexander Semple, Jason McCallum, Kirstie Renton. Good sportsmanship: Ruby Soper, Aiden Brodie, Rhys Thompson, Charlie Colville. Lucky square £10 prize: Aiden Brodie.

Ruairidh Campbell in action during the boys' doubles final. 50_c06badminton08
Ruairidh Campbell in action during the boys’ doubles final. 50_c06badminton08

All the prize-winners, pictured with Catherine Dobbie, back left, and Anne Littleson, back second right. 50_c06badminton06

Ruairidh Campbell in action during the boys’ doubles final. 50_c06badminton08