Ultra runner’s special sporting prize

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

An athlete who ran the extra miles in ultra marathons received a special achievement award at Campbeltown Running Club’s (CRC) prizegiving.

Ralph Hill completed not only the full Kintyre Way Ultra – 35.5 miles – but also The River Ayr Way Ultra -41 miles.

At the recent ceremony junior handicap prizes were awarded first. Each child who took part received a medal and a certificate that included the time for each race they ran.

The winners are as follows: Girls: 1 and overall points: Cara McFadzean, 2 Carla Renton, 3 Rona McLean. Boys: 1 William McLean, 2 Ruairidh Campbell, 3 James Reid. Junior prize: Ruairidh Campbell.

A Campbeltown Junior Running Club (CJRC) spokesperson said: ‘Coaches are immensely proud of each and every one of the children who took part this year.

‘We would like to thank all the parents who help support the handicap series each year and MACC Base for allowing us to use their facilities for one of our races each year.’

Some adult prizewinners: back row from left: Sam Ferguson, Stuart McGeachy and Sandy McLean.Ffront row from left: Margaret Sinclair, Ralph Hill, Catherine McLean, Ewan Smith and Eilidh Girvan.

Before the adult prizes were presented,  Stuart McGeachy and Robert McDonald thanked Alisdair O’May for the two new additions to the race series at MACC base and MACC for permission to use the facilities.

Stuart also thanked the ever present time keepers Suzy Ferguson, Marjorie Leighton, Janette Hannah, Valerie MacKay and Catherine McLean without whom the race series would not proceed.

Elaine McGeachy thanked Sarah McFadzean for starting the club league table and Catherine McLean for updating it.

Results are as follows: Race one Campbeltown: Annabell Semple, two MACC base: Rachel McGeachy, three Ballochgair: Rachel McGeachy, four MACC: Susan Turner, five Campbeltown: Gerri McAnerny. Ladies winners: 1 Susan Turner, 2 Maryann Wylie, joint 3 Eilidh Green and Hazel Barr. Mens: 1 Sam Ferguson, 2 Alisdair O’May and 3 Neil-John MacPhail. Overall points winner: Susan Turner. Ladies 2017 league table winners: 1 Margaret Sinclair, 2 Catherine Mclean, 3 Lorraine McDonald. Mens 2017 league winners: 1 Sandy McLean, 2 Stuart McGeachy, 3 Ewan Smith.

Each year the club members are asked to nominate someone they feel in their own mind deserves to be nominated for Club Member of the Year, Most Improved, Best Performance and Special Sporting Achievement.

The results were: Most improved: Hazel Barr for achieving her 5K and 10K times. Club member of the year: Ewan Smith for his dedication to the club by travelling from Tarbert, at least once a week, to train and representing the club in many races. Best performance: Stuart McGeachy for his outstanding Glen Scotia marathon and the Great Scottish Run half marathon result.

A CRC spokesperson said: ‘Thanks to all who attend the prize giving, club members for their continued support, Campbeltown Bowling Club for allowing us to host our event and last but not least all our winners. ‘