Silverware spectacular at Dunaverty prize-giving

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Campbeltown Courier – subscribe today for as little as 56 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

It was par-tee time as Dunaverty golf club members met to celebrate their success at a prize-giving spectacular following this year’s competitions.

A strong contingent attended an excellent prize-giving meal, provided by Argyll Bakeries, in the clubhouse.

The ladies’ section had several multiple winners led by Lindsay Garrett who picked up seven prizes.

Linda Arkell, Ailie MacBrayne, who was the victor in the ladies’ championship, Elizabeth Marrison and Eleanor Hawkins all finished the season with five prizes each.

Lee Mathieson topped the gents’ prize list with eight, one ahead of John Brown and Robert Irvine both on seven.

Sandy Watson and David Irwin were next with six each.

Greg Watson retained the club championship and his father, Duncan Watson III, successfully defended his status as senior champion.

Full results:

Ladies’ results 2016/17: Medals: November, Eleanor Hawkins; December, Elizabeth Marrison; January, Eleanor Hawkins; February, Katherine Hardman; March, Mary McKinnon; April, Katherine Hardman, May, including Thistle Brooch, Lindsay Garrett; June, Mairi MacMillan; July, Ailie MacBrayne; August, Margaret MacFarlane; September, Joan McInnes; October, Elizabeth Marrison. Robertson Cup: 1 Linda Brannigan, 2 Linda Arkell. Argyll Cup: 1 Jana MacPherson and Mary McKinnon, 2 Elizabeth Marrison and Margaret Barr. Coronation foursomes: Mary McKinnon and Margaret Bar. Captain’s Charity: Katherine Hardman. Spring Meeting: 1 handicap Lindsay Garrett; 2 handicap Jana MacPherson; 3 handicap Florence Christie; scratch winner, Elizabeth Marrison. Centenary Trophy: 1 handicap Mairi MacMillan; 2 handicap Lindsay Garrett,  scratch winner, Ailie MacBrayne. Chest Heart and Stroke: Margaret MacFarlane. Club Stableford: 1 Eleanor Hawkins, 2 Linda Arkell. SSAFA Quaich: Margaret Barr and Elizabeth Marrison. Blind Veterans’ Foursomes: Margaret Barr and Elizabeth Marrison. Charles Hunter Memorial Trophy: 1 Eleanor Hawkins, 2 Ailie MacBrayne. Autumn Meeting: 1 handicap Linda Arkell; 2 Eleanor Hawkins; 3 Mary McKinnon, scratch winner Lindsay Garrett. Golf Foundation Brooch: Joan McInnes. Greenlees Trophy: 1 Elizabeth Marrison, 2 Linda Arkell. Red Cross: Ailie MacBrayne. Dunblaan Vase: Linda Arkell. Glenadale Salver: 1 Lindsay Garrett, 2 Eleanor Hawkins. Ladies’ championship: best final round handicap score: Lindsay Garrett. Handicap Trophy winner: Mairi MacMillan. Ladies’ champion and winner of the Silver Salver: Ailie MacBrayne, runner-up Lindsay Garrett.

Men’s results 2016/17: Hiccup 2016: Harry Maclean. Medals: October handicap, Harry MacLean; scratch Campbell MacBrayne;  November handicap Lee Mathieson, scratch Ross Sinclair;  December handicap Robert Irvine, scratch Sandy Watson; January handicap Robert Irvine, scratch Sandy Watson; February handicap John Brown, scratch  Donald Taylor; March handicap Robert Allan jr, scratch Donald Taylor;  April handicap Campbell MacBrayne, scratch Ross Sinclair; May handicap Sandy Watson, scratch Lee Mathieson; June handicap Robert Irvine, scratch  Ross Sinclair; July handicap Malcolm Ronald, scratch Sandy Watson; August handicap Johan Wallentine, scratch Donald Taylor; September handicap Harry MacLean, scratch Robert Irvine. Christmas Competition 2016: handicap Neil Brodie, scratch David Irwin. New Year Competition: handicap Bill Brannigan, scratch David Irwin. New Year and Christmas combined: Bill Brannigan. Spring meeting, captain’s prize: 1 Raymond Harvey, 2 handicap Malcolm Ronald, 1 scratch Lee Mathieson, 2 Duncan Watson III. Mersey Police Cup 1 handicap Neil Brodie, 2 Stuart MacBrayne, 1 scratch Lee Mathieson, 2 Campbell MacBrayne. Centenary Trophy: 1 handicap David Irwin, 2 Douglas Mack, 1 scratch Duncan Watson III, 2 scratch Ross Sinclair. Club Stableford: 1 David MacBrayne, 2 Alex Arkell, 3 Danny Halliday. Club Competition: handicap Bill Brannigan, scratch John Brown. Tapoc Cup: 1 Ken MacMillan, 2 John McDowall, 3 Danny Halliday. RNLI Cup: 1 Robert Irvine, 2 John Brown, 3 Robert Allan jnr. Holiday Open, best local scratch and winner of Crae McIntyre Trophy: David Irwin. Charles Hunter Trophy: 1 Campbell MacBrayne, 2= Harry MacLean and John Marrison. Autumn Meeting: 1 handicap Donald MacNeil, 2 John Brown, 1 scratch George MacMillan, 2 David Irwin. Keil Trophy: 1 handicap Steven Garrett, 2 Robert Irvine, 1 scratch Ross Sinclair, 2 John McKinlay. Lephenstrath Trophy: winner Lee Mathieson, runner-up Duncan Watson III. McCallum/Lyon Trophy: winner Lee Mathieson, runner-up John Brown. Muneroy Cup: winner Harry MacLean, runner-up Campbell MacBrayne. Amod McNeil Quaich: winners Robert Allan jr and Duncan Watson III, runners-up John McDowall and Robert Irvine. Dunaverty Trophy: winners Sandy Watson and Mairi MacMillan. Texas Scramble: winners David MacBrayne, Neil Brodie and Lee Mathieson, runners-up John Brown, Danny Halliday and John Marrison. Club Championship: senior champion Duncan Watson III; handicap championship 1 Sandy Watson, 2 David MacBrayne, 3 Raymond Harvey; club champion 1 Greg Watson, 2 Lee Mathieson, 3 George MacMillan, 4 Donald MacNeil, 5 David Irwin.

Dunaverty’s top players rounded off the golfing year with a prize-giving ceremony. NO_c43dunaverty01