Springbank Invitational picked perfect pipers

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Campbeltown Courier – subscribe today for as little as 56 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Scotland’s top pipers went chanter to chanter in the Springbank Invitational Piping Competition.

Roddy MacLeod MBE piped his way to victory in Campbeltown’s Seafield Hotel on September 16, scooping the overall prize.

Mr MacLeod was awarded with the Silver Medal for first place, followed by Willie McCallum in second place who received the Bronze Medal.

The overall winner was determined by results from the Piobaireachd and March, Strathspey and Reel (MSR) categories.

Mr MacLeod’s rendition of the Lament for MacSwan of Roaig saw him receive the Argyll Arms Trophy and an inscribed quaich as the winner of the Piobaireachd category.

The runner up in the Piobaireachd was Alasdair Henderson, who played MacDougall’s Gathering to receive the Carmichael Quaich.

Third was Gordon McCready for The Vaunting and fourth was Iain Spears with In Praise of Morag.

The MSR category was also hotly contested but Mr McCallum pipped all other pipers to the post and was awarded the Serco Trophy and an inscribed quaich.

Runner up in the MSR category and recipient of the Serco Trophy and an inscribed quaich was Callum Beaumont. Third was Roddy MacLeod MBE followed by Alasdair Henderson in fourth place.

The top prize in the Hornpipe and Jig category was The Committee Members’ Trophy and Sgian Dubh, which was presented to the winner Alasdair Henderson. Runner up in the Hornpipe and Jig category was Angus MacColl, followed by Gordon McCready in third place and Willie McCallum in fourth.

Prizes for the Piobaireachd, MSR and Hornpipe and Jig categories were presented by David Allen of Springbank Distillers.

Other prizes awarded included the McFadyen’s Transport Ltd Trophy for locally composed 6/8 marches, presented by Mr Calum McFadyen, which went to Angus MacColl. Second in the 6/8 category was Roddy MacLeod followed by Willie McCallum in third and Gordon McCready in fourth.

The competition was judged by John Wilson, Pipe Major Iain Morrison and Iain MacFadyen and the Fear-an-Tighe was Alan Forbes.

Principal of the National Piping Centre Mr Roddy MacLeod, made MBE for services to piping in 2003, presented the Kintyre Piping Society (KPS) with a cheque for £750.

The cash was raised through live online streaming of the Glenfiddich Piping Championship, where viewers were asked to make donations to the Society.

Mr W. McCallum then asked the President of KPS John Brown to accept a set of Duncan McCrae bagpipes which were donated by McCallum Bagpipes of Kilmarnock. The pipes were made more poignant with an inscribed plaque in memory of Willie’s father, Willie McCallum Snr.

A spokesman from KPS said: ‘Both of these donations were gratefully received by the society and will be put to good use in furthering interest in piping, and especially junior piping, in Kintyre.

‘The Kintyre Piping Society would like to thank Springbank Distillers for their continuing support, McFadyen’s Transport Ltd. and all of their sponsors, without whom the competition could not continue.’

KPS president John Brown hands Willie McCallum the Duncan McCrae bagpipes. NO_c40invitational03_bagpipes

The competing pipers at Springbank. NO_c40invitational01_pipers

Roddy MacLeod presents the cheque to KPS’ Finlay Wylie. NO_c40invitational02_cheque