Bluefaced Leicester is supreme show champion

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Campbeltown Courier – subscribe today for as little as 56 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

The 2017 Highland Show best female, Jean McLachlan’s Bluefaced Leicester, made an impression among the crowd at the Kintyre Agricultural Show.

The gimmer, up against some stiff competition at the 151st show, was crowned the champion of champions last Friday.

The full list of trophy winners is below.

Results: Coll Cup, best Ayrshire calf: Jade McCallum, Clochkiel. Ayr Cattle Society Shield, Ayrshire production class: TM Ralston, East Drumlemble. Kintyre Farmers Cup, winner of Ayrshire heifer (17): J and M Barr, Clochkiel. Merchants Cup, most points Ayrshire: J and M Barr, Clochkiel. Society Cup, best Ayrshire home bred: TM Ralston, East Drumlemble. Alf King Cup, best Ayrshire, milk section: TM Ralston, East Drumlemble. Deosan Cup for best Ayr pair milk: J and M Barr, Clochkiel. Thomas Miller Cup for Ayrshire young stock champion: J and M Barr, Clochkiel. Tom Douglas Cup, overall Ayrshire champion: TM Ralston, East Drumlemble. Volac Cup, best Holstein calf: Kathryn Semple, Kilkeddan. Holstein Breeders ID Smith cup, winner 8,000kg class: Donald Armour, High Knockrioch. Alister Cameron Cup, winner of Holstein milk records class: A and J Pirie, Machrihanish. John Cullen Salver, Holstein young stock champion: Kathryn Semple, Kilkeddan. Kintyre Holstein Breeders Cup, winner Holstein heifer (30): A and J Pirie, Machrihanish. Drumalea Cup, champion Holstein: Gavin Semple, Kilkeddan. Sandy Ross Cup, champion Jersey: Tommy Ralston , Dhurrie. Silver Vase, best exhibit 14-25 years old  dairy: Kathryn Semple, Kilkeddan. Ian McDonald Rose Bowl, dairy interbreed pair: J and M Barr, Clochkiel. Parker Cup, reserve dairy champion: Gavin Semple, Kilkeddan. Creamery Cup, supreme dairy champion: TM Ralston, East Drumlemble. Kintara Cup, best calf led by juvenile: Fraser Lines, Killacraw. Corson’s Rose Bowl, best cross bred suckled calf: J, J and C McCallum, Strathnafanaig. McFadyen Cup, most points in beef section: DW Semple, Dippen. Daniel Riddell Cup, best opposite sex in beef classes: DW Semple, Dippen. Messrs Wallace Cup, champion beef animal: J, J and C McCallum, Strathnafanaig. Wm McLatchie Memorial Cup, best Clydesdale bred in Kintyre: D and C MacPhail, Garcalfra. Society Cup, best Clydesdale bred by exhibitor: D and C MacPhail. John McCallum Memorial Plate, best Clydesdale: D and C MacPhail. David MacPhail and Son Cup, best Clydesdale foal: no entries. David Smith Cup, champion Clydesdale: D and C MacPhail. Duncan MacKinnon Trophy, best horse dressed and in harness: Michelle Mayberry, Bellochantuy. Arnicle Cup, best B/F milk ewe and lamb: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. Duke’s Cup, best group of 3 B/F: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. John R Semple Cup, best B/F lamb: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. Maxwell Cup, best B/F male bred by exhibitor: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. Argyll Herald Jubilee Cup, best home-bred B/F sheep: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. Calder Cup, reserve champion, confined: Greig Gillespie and Jo Preston. Archie Black Memorial Cup, confined B/F champion: Peter McKerral, Tangy. James McPhee & Son Cup, most points in B/F section: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. Sanda Cup, champion B/F sheep: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. Devonia Bowl, most points Ayr/B/F sheep: Messrs McArthur, Arnicle. John D McConnachie Cup, champion Blue Leicester: Jean McLachlan, Kildalloig. Jim Martin/Scotmin Cup, champion Suffolk: John Pirie, Machrihanish. Society Cup, champion Mule/Greyface: J and M Turner, Kildalloig. Thomas Brown Quaich, champion Texel: Greig Gillespie and Jo Preston. McTaggart Cup, best border Leicester: Rosie Cannon, Kildalloig. Mary Lang Memorial Trophy, best Jacob: M and C Ralston, Rhoin. Mssrs Jackson/Sym Plate, best pen of fat lambs: Iain McKendrick, High Dalrioch. Tithebarn Cup, overall sheep champion: Jean McLachlan, Kildalloig. Society Cup, champion dog, confined to Kintyre: Keren Paterson with Echo. Society Quaich, best old tractor: DG Weir, Arran.

Jean McLachlan won the John D McConnachie Cup for champion Blue Leicester and the Tithebarn Cup for overall sheep champion. 50_c32kintyreshow65_jean mclachlan trophy