Kintyre’s premier primestock breeders

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Campbeltown Courier – subscribe today for as little as 56 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

A very wet morning turned into a sunny afternoon for Kintyre Primestock Breeders’ 36th annual herds competition.

The usual turnout of members and spectators was present as chairman Hamish Morrison introduced judge for the day, Douglas McDonald, from Tyree, Oban.

After the results, vice-chairman Andrew P Ronald thanked the event’s sponsors, the judge, Argyll Bowling Club for use of their premises at lunchtime, the Argyll Hotel for dinner and the prize-giving, and all who took part for making the day successful.

Results: Autumn herds: 1 Dippen, 2 Uigle, 3 Strathnafanaig, 4 Laggan. Best cow: Uigle. Best team of cows: Dippen. Best team of calves: Dippen. Best calf: 1 Dippen, 2 Uigle, 3 Strathnafanaig.

Spring herds: 1 Killacraw, 2 Low Dunashery, 3 Killegruer, 4 Kilwhipnach. Best cow: Killacraw. Best team of cows: Killacraw. Best team of calves: Killacraw. Best calf: 1 Low Dunashery, 2 Killeguer, 3 Killacraw.

Overall prizes: Team of cows: Killacraw. Langa salver, best cow: Uigle. Parker cup, best calf: Low Dunashery. David Henderson cup, best team of calves: Dippen. John H Warnock cup, best herd overall: Killacraw.